Building Your 21st Century Workplace: TALK BACK


In my last article called “Building Your 21st Century Workplace,” I referenced an article from millennial observer, Dan Schwabel. In it he posited 5 new rules for the workplace, about which I gave my observations.

I received this interesting email from a reader that I felt was so compelling I wanted to share it with you. After reading these comments, I invite comments from other readers about whether you see these rules in a negative or positive way.

Anyway, here is the email for your review and consideration:

“I enjoyed your positive spin on the 5 new rules of the work place. When I first read them, my instinct (as an employee-type) was to automatically see them as all negatives (as did many of my friends/siblings who all weighed in when I posted this on my own Fb page).

Here’s how we saw it:

1. Everyone is a free agent. Translation: Your workplace doesn’t care about you. They care about their bottom-line. If it comes down to choosing between money and a valuable employee, most employers will go with money….leaving employees in the lurch (for evidence look no further than the unemployment rate in this country or the number of companies outsourcing or the rate at which employers are dropping benefits). So the message is clear: Don’t feel too loyal or any sense of obligation to your employer, because they don’t feel the same about you. If push comes to shove they will drop you.  (With the exception, I guess, of those companies you mentioned like Google who take great care to cater to their employees.)

2. You’re only good as your last project. Translation: Everything you’ve worked for and achieved during your career doesn’t matter. Your employers have short-term memories. They remember your last mistake or your last achievement. In this dog-eat-dog business world, your job is on the line every day. (Again, refers back to no. 1).

3. Work is not confined to 9 to 5. Translation: Get over having a life outside your career. If you want to work and stay working, you better be working (or thinking about work or leveraging your work or networking) 24-7.

4. Make change or be affected by it. Translation: See 1-3 above. Your head could be on the chopping room floor every day…so be very, very careful. Get out ahead of the pack and stay there.

5. You are accountable for your own career. Translation: You’re on your own, buddy! No one wants to help you succeed. Every man for him/herself, so do what you can to survive! No one is going to promote you, pay you more or help/mentor you in this economy. Everyone is fighting for the same few measly jobs.

I know this is decidedly negative perspective, but it gives insights to how a lot of young people feel—especially in this economy.

Yours sounded much more positive and upbeat and gave a nice perspective that I had not thought of before.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Leading, Managing Teams

Leave a Reply

